The history of the Oakridge neighbourhood is centred around the Oakridge Public School, which was built in 1913 on Danforth Road where Oakridge Park is now situated. This school was demolished in 1967, and replaced by a modern school on Byng Road. A datestone memorial to the old Oakridge school stands at the Danforth Road entranceway to Oakridge Park.
Oakridge's development was largely influenced by Danforth Road, one of Toronto's oldest thoroughfares. Danforth Road had its own bus service as early as 1918, which helped to attract many homeowners to this area. Oakridge's growth was further enhanced in the 1950's, when the Bloor-Danforth subway line was extended east to Warden Avenue.
Oakridge is a mature neighbourhood that features an eclectic mix of older houses, a vibrant shopping district along Danforth Avenue and an abundance of recreational facilities and parkland.
Oakridge is bound on the north by ravine and park lands and on the south and east by the CN railway line and industry. A great deal of the social and recreational activity in this neighbourhood revolves around the Oakridge Community Recreation Centre on Pharmacy Avenue, and Oakridge Park on Danforth Avenue.