The history of Guildwood Village revolves around The Guild Inn which was founded in 1932 by Rosa and Spencer Clark as a retreat for artists and craftsmen. "The Guild of All Arts," as it was then known featured workshops and studios, in a picturesque setting atop the Scarborough Bluffs.
During World War II, The Guild Inn was used as an official naval base called "HMCS Bytown II, and then later as a specialized military hospital known as "Scarborough Hall." After the war, The Guild Inn was returned to the Clarks and its popularity rose to new heights.
In the 1950's rising taxes forced the Clarks to sell 400 acres of their property to the developers who built the present day Guildwood Village neighbourhood. In 1978 the Metropolitan Toronto and Region Conservation Authority purchased the remainder of the Guild Inn estate, thus preserving its beauty for future generations to explore and enjoy.
Guildwood Village is one of Toronto's most beautiful and inclusive neighbourhoods. The main entrance to the Guildwood neighbourhood is marked by a formal stone pillar and cast iron gateway, situated at Kingston Road and Guildwood Parkway.
The major landmark in this neighbourhood is the historic Guild Inn, located at 201 Guildwood Parkway. The Guild Inn is situated on ninety acres of property overlooking the Scarborough Bluffs. Tourists and local residents come to the Guild Inn to enjoy its historic architectural walking tour and rustic woodland nature trail.
Guildwood Village has an active community association that produces its own newsletter as well as sponsoring various neighbourhood events. One of these events is Guildwood Day, which is held in June and features a pancake breakfast, games, races, crafts, a parade along Guildwood Parkway and an evening barbeque.