One of Glen Park's first settlers was Sir Sanford Fleming - the father of standard time and the chief engineer of the Ontario, Simcoe and Huron Railway. Fleming's property was located just south of Lawrence Avenue between Dufferin and Keele Streets. In 1856, Fleming subdivided his farm into the Balmoral subdivision, which was the first planned subdivision in North York. Unfortunately, Fleming was ahead of his time and Balmoral never got past the marketing stage.
Fleming's son Colonel Fred Fleming took over the family farm in 1881 and began importing and breeding Hereford cattle. Under the young Fleming's guidance "Park Farm" rose to prominence as one of the finest stock breeding farms in Canada.
Glen Park's transition from farmland to residential neighbourhood began in the 1920's. Its largest period of growth occurred after the second world war, when many returning war veterans and their families settled in Glen Park. This increased population led to the building of the Glen Park Public School in 1948.
Glen Park is a diverse community bringing together people from broad socio-economic backgrounds. Italian Canadian families own many of the homes around Dufferin Street, while a large Jewish orthodox community resides closer to Bathurst Street.
Glen Park also has a low-income district that is located in the centre of this neighbourhood near the Allen Expressway. This pocket of Glen Park is home to many new Canadians and contains geared-to-income rental housing.
The Glen Park Public School received the Canada Award of Excellence from the National Quality Institute. This award recognizes the improved standards and above average test results achieved at this school, which also boasts a strong French Immersion program.