The Don Valley Village neighbourhood was developed in the 1960's and 1970's. However the pre-subdivision history of this area dates back to the early 1800's, when Don Valley Village was comprised of a collection of small farming hamlets. Only three historical landmarks remain from the pioneer days of Don Valley Village.
These vestiges include the Zion Primitive Methodist Church, circa 1873, located at 1650 Finch Avenue East, and the charming little red brick Zion Schoolhouse, circa 1869, located at 1091 Finch Avenue East. The only pioneer home still standing in this area is the Alexander Muirhead Victorian style farm house, circa 1853, located at 179 Old Sheppard Street. This house was originally part of the former O'Sullivan's Corners, a crossroads community that once thrived at the corner of Victoria Park and Sheppard Avenues
Don Valley Village is a low to middle income neighbourhood that includes many new Canadian citizens of Armenian, Chinese, East Indian and Middle Eastern backgrounds. The outstanding feature of Don Valley Village is its hill and dale topography which is formed from the nearby Don River Valley situated along the eastern boundary of this neighbourhood.
Don Valley Village landmaks include Fairview Mall - one of Toronto's largest shopping centres, the highly regarded North York General Hospital located at the south-west corner of Sheppard Avenue and Leslie Street, and the Cummer Park Fitness Centre which is one of Toronto's largest municipally operated recreational facilities.